November 1, 2008

The Eleventh Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers

The Eleventh Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at Le Westin Resort & Spa in Tremblant, Quebec on May 29 – June 1, 2008. The theme of the Conference was: “THE ART OF ADVOCACY”.

Guest speakers included The Honourable Mr. Justice Graesser of Edmonton, Alberta, Douglas Stollery, Q.C. of PCL Constructors Inc., Edmonton, Alberta, Tobin Schropp, V.P. Legal of Peter Kiewit Sons, Co., Omaha, Nebraska, Jean-Eric Laferriere, SNC Lavalin, Montreal, Quebec, Peter Wade, Wade, Courville, See of Columbus, Ga., L’Honorable Jug En Chef Adjoint Andre Wery, Montreal, Quebec, L’Honorable Jug Richard Wagner, Montreal, Quebec, Paul Barshop, COO, Independent Project Analysis, Ashburn, Virginia, and E. Sigurd Ruud, Bantrel Co., Calgary,

The College is comprised of a small group of nominated senior lawyers (“Fellows”) from across Canada, who have highly distinguished and reputed practices in construction law. According to its by-laws, the purpose of the College is to:

“facilitate and encourage the association of outstanding lawyers who are distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice or teaching of construction law and who are dedicated to excellence in the specialized practice of construction law.”

Prominent topics at the conference included the art of advocacy, the role of expert witnesses, limiting risk on high risk projects, case management and the pros and cons of the new CCDC-2 2008 form of Stipulated Price Contract.

A revised format for the conference included a series of guest speakers on the Friday session, followed by hot topics on selected issues on the Saturday morning session. The Annual General Meeting of the College was also held on the Saturday morning just prior to the hot topics segment.

The Fellows and their spouses were entertained at the summit of the Mountain at the Grand Manitou on the Friday evening. The Gala Dinner was held on the Saturday evening in the dining room of Le Westin Resort & Spa.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers is pleased to announce that the following Officers were elected at the Eleventh Annual Conference:

President: Daniel Ayotte,
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Montreal, Quebec

Immediate Past President Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,
Field LLP
Calgary, Alberta

Vice President: William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.
Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Secretary: Louis-Michel Tremblay
Miller Thomson Pouliot LLP
Montreal, Quebec

Treasurer: W. Andrew McLauchlin
(2nd of 2 year term)
McLauchlin & Associates,
Toronto, Ontario

Program Co-Ordinator: Howard M. Wise
Goodmans LLP
Toronto, Ontario

The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers listed above, as well as:

Sandor J. Klein
DeGrandpre Chait
(Montreal, Quebec)

Derek A. Brindle Q.C.
Singleton Urquhart
(Vancouver, British Columbia)

Kenneth B. McCullogh, Q.C.
Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales
(Saint John, New Brunswick)

David I. Marr
Campbell, Marr LLP
(Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Joel Richler
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
(Toronto, Ontario)

Marina A. Pratchett Q.C.
Fasken Martineau DuMolin LLP
(Vancouver, British Columbia)

The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio members of the Board of Governors:

Harvey J. Kirsh
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1997 – 1999)

D. Robert Beaumont
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1999 – 2000)

David H. Kauffman
De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)
(President, 2000 – 2001)

J. Stephen Tatrallyay
(President, 2001 – 2002)

R. Bruce Reynolds
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)
(President, 2002 – 2003)

Helmut K. Johannsen
Fasken Martineau DeMoulin LLP (Vancouver)
(President, 2003 – 2004)

Stanley Naftolin, Q.C.
Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber, LLP (Toronto)
(President, 2004 – 2005)

Duncan W. Glaholt
Glaholt LLP Barristers & Solicitors (Toronto)
(President, 2005 – 2006)

George W. MacDonald, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper (Halifax)
(President, 2006 – 2007)

Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,
Field LLP (Calgary)
(President, 2007 – 2008)

Call to Action banner

Annual Construction Law Conference

Get the latest information about our upcoming conference, and learn more about our past events.

More Info