February 1, 2011

The 14th Annual Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Conference

The 14th Annual Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Conference was held June 2 – 5, 2011 at Fairmount Chateau Laurier in Ottawa, Ontario.

(summary below)

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to The Honourable Mr. Justice Richard Wagner upon his appointment to the Quebec Court of Appeal.

Mr. Justice Wagner has been a distinguished member of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers since 1998 and an Honorary Fellow since 2007.

More details about his appointment can be found by clicking the link below:


The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to Glenn Ackerley of Weir Foulds LLP upon his election as Chairman of the Board of the Toronto Construction Association for 2011. Mr. Ackerley has been a distinguished member of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers since 2009.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to Harvey J. Kirsh of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP upon his election as a Fellow of the American College of Construction Lawyers. He is the only Canadian panel member of the Global Engineering and Construction Group of “JAMS” (Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services), the largest private provider of alternative dispute resolution services in the world. Certified as a “Specialist in Construction Law” by the Law Society of Upper Canada and designated by the ADR Institute of Canada as a Chartered Arbitrator, he is also the Chair of the Construction, Engineering and Infrastructure Panel of ADR Chambers in Canada.

Mr. Kirsh is a Past President of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers and has been a distinguished member of the College since 1998.

Conference Summary

The Fourteenth Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at Ottawa, Ontario on June 2-5, 2011 at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel.

The theme of this year’s Conference was: “Emerging Legal Issues- Moving the Yardsticks.”

Guest speakers included:

Howard Ashcraft, FACCL, Hon. AIACC, LEED AP Hanson Bridgett LLP (California),

Spencer Cripps, MMM Group,

Michael Atkinson, President of the Canadian Construction Association (Ottawa),

Michael Robillard, Senior Programs Officer, Canada Revenue Agency (Ottawa),

Frank Faieta, National Vice-President, Claims, The Guarantee Company of North America (Toronto),

Deborah Ballati, Farella, Braun and Martel (California) and

Doug Oles of the American College of Construction Lawyers (Washington).

The College is comprised of a small group of nominated senior lawyers (“Fellows”) from across Canada, who have highly distinguished and reputed practices in construction law.  According to its by-laws, the purpose of the College is to:

“facilitate and encourage the association of outstanding lawyers who are distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice or teaching of construction law and who are dedicated to excellence in the specialized practice of construction law.”

The prominent topics at the conference included Integrated Project Delivery, Following the Project Funds and Challenging Contract Clauses.

The format for the conference from the last several years was continued with a series of speakers from the College together with guest speakers on Friday followed by a Boat Cruise of the Ottawa River highlighting local landmarks. The guest speaker at Friday’s group lunch was Chenier La Salle from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, who spoke about the devastation in Japan following the recent tsunami and earthquakes together with Canada’s contribution to the reconstruction efforts of Japan. The Friday night dinner was held at the Canadian Museum of Civilization.

The Annual General Meeting of the College was held on the Saturday morning followed by Hot Topics on selected current issues.

The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony for New Fellows was held on the Saturday evening in the Laurier Room of the Fairmont Chateau Laurier.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to new Fellow Douglas R. Sanders, P. Eng., LL.B. and to Honourary Fellows John W. Hinchey and Steven G.M. Stein inducted at the Fourteenth Annual Conference.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers is pleased to announce that the following Officers were elected at the Fourteenth Annual Conference:


Louis-Michel Tremblay

Miller Thomson Pouliot SENCRL

Montreal, Quebec

Immediate Past President:

W. Andrew McLauchlin

McLauchlin & Associates

Toronto, Ontario

Vice President:

Howard M. Wise

Goodmans LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Derek A. Brindle, Q.C.

Singleton Urquhart LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia


Richard H. Shaban

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

Toronto, Ontario

Program Co-Ordinator:

Marina A. Pratchett, Q.C.

Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia

The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers listed above, as well as:

Olivier F. Kott
Ogilvy Renault
Montreal, Quebec

Joel Richler
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Toronto, Ontario

Donald W. Goodfellow, Q.C.
The Law Firm of W. Donald Goodfellow, Q.C.
Calgary, Alberta

Ronald W. Price
Rasmussen Starr Ruddy, LLP
Ottawa, Ontario

Christopher C. Robinson, Q.C.
McInnes Cooper
Halifax, Nova Scotia

The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio members of the Board of Governors:

Harvey J. Kirsh
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1997 – 1999)

Robert Beaumont
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1999 – 2000)

David H. Kauffman
De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)
(President, 2000 – 2001)

Stephen Tatrallyay
(President, 2001 – 2002)

Bruce Reynolds
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)
(President, 2002 – 2003)

Helmut K. Johannsen
Fasken Martineau DeMoulin LLP (Vancouver)
(President, 2003 – 2004)

Stanley Naftolin, Q.C.
Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber, LLP (Toronto)
(President, 2004 – 2005)

Duncan W. Glaholt
Glaholt LLP Barristers & Solicitors (Toronto)
(President, 2005 – 2006)

George W. MacDonald, Q.C.
McInnes Cooper (Halifax)
(President, 2006 – 2007)

Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,
Field LLP (Calgary)
(President, 2007 – 2008)

Daniel Ayotte, Q.C.
Borden Ladner Gervais (Montreal)                                     
(President, 2008-2009)

William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.
Stewart, McKelvey (Halifax)
(President, 2009-2010) 

Call to Action banner

Annual Construction Law Conference

Get the latest information about our upcoming conference, and learn more about our past events.

More Info