Return to the Home Page About CCCL Members CCCL News CCCL Articles CCCL Links Mediation Panel Contact CCCL Member Login

CCCL News - 2005

Press Release - June 7, 2005

The 8th Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at Queen’s Landing Inn, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario on May 26 – May 29, 2005. The theme of the Conference was “Construction Lawyers Without Borders”.

The keynote speaker was Professor Phillip Capper, head of Lovells’ worldwide Engineering and Construction Projects practice, London, U.K., on the topic of arbitration of international engineering projects. L’honorable J.J. Michel Robert, Chief Justice of Quebec, spoke on the topic of computerized construction appeals, and Justice Roger E. Baker, Judge of the Quebec Superior Court, spoke on the topic of computerized construction trials. Joseph F. Canterbury Jr., of Canterbury, Stuber, Elder, Gooch & Surratt, Dallas, Texas, and Thomas J. Stipanowich of CPR Institute for Dispute Resolution, New York, were guest panellists on the topic of practical arbitration issues raised in international engineering and construction contracts. Peter Goetz, of Goetz Fitzpatrick, New York, and Steven G.J. Stein, of Stein, Ray & Harris, Chicago, were guest panellists on the topic of practical advice for international and domestic arbitrators together with Jose Maria Abascal, of UNCITRAL Working Group, Mexico City. José Maria Abascal also provided an update on UNCITRAL Committee Work. Alan Bodie, President, of Strategic Initiatives, PCL Constructors Inc., Edmonton, and John S. Mrowiec, of Conway & Mrowiec, Chicago, presented a project case history.

The following officers of the College were elected at the 8th Annual Conference:

Duncan W. Glaholt.
Glaholt LLP (Toronto)

Immediate Past President:
Stanley Naftolin, J.D. Q.C.
Goldman, Sloan, Nash & Haber LLP (Toronto)

George W. MacDonald, Q.C.
McInnes, Cooper (Halifax)

Jean C. van der Lee
Field LLP (Calgary)

Robert A. Graesser, Q.C.
Reynolds, Mirth, Richards & Farmer LLP (Edmonton)

Program Co-Ordinators:

Daniel Ayotte
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Montreal)

William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.
Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales (Halifax)

The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers, listed above, as well as:

Bryan S. Shapiro
(Shapiro Hankinson & Knutson, Vancouver)

Janine Kovach
(Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP, Toronto)

William J. Kenny, Q.C.
(Miller Thomson, LLP, Edmonton)

Louis-Michel Tremblay
(Miller Thomson, LLP, Montreal)

William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.
(Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales, Halifax)

The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio fellows of the Board of Governors:

Harvey J. Kirsh
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1997 – 1999)

D. Robert Beaumont
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)
(President, 1999 - 2000)

David H. Kauffman
De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)
(President, 2000 - 2001)

J. Stephen Tatrallyay
Koskie Minsky (Toronto)
(President, 2001 – 2002)

R. Bruce Reynolds
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)
(President 2002-2003)

Helmut K. Johannsen (Vancouver)
(President, 2003-2004)

Stanley Naftolin, J.D. Q.C.
Goldman, Sloan, Nash & Haber LLP (Toronto)
(President 2004-2005)

The following were officially inducted as Fellows of the College:

Ronald W. Price
(Rasmussen Starr Ruddy, LLP)

T. Arthur Barry, Q.C.
(Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales)

Press Release -April 22, 2005

Press Release - January 11, 2005


Copyright 1999-2008 The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Inc.