Return to the Home Page About CCCL Members CCCL News CCCL Articles CCCL Links Mediation Panel Contact CCCL Member Login



(June 2009)

The Twelfth Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at the Ritz-Carlton in Chicago, Illinois on May 28 – May 31, 2009. 

Guest speakers included Steven Richards, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Procurement Project, Infrastructure Ontario, (Toronto, ON), Winnie Shi, CA, CFA of KPMG Vancouver, (Vancouver BC), John Hastings, RBC Capital Markets (Boston, MA), Ray Bassett, Travelers Guarantee Company of Canada (Toronto, ON), Jim Moye, Moy O’Brien, Orlando Florida (Maitland, FL) and Phil Bruner, JAMS Global Engineering & Construction Group (Stilwater, MN).

The College is comprised of a small group of nominated senior lawyers (“Fellows”) from across Canada, who have highly distinguished and reputed practices in construction law.  According to its by-laws, the purpose of the College is to:


“facilitate and encourage the association of outstanding lawyers who are distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice or teaching of construction law and who are dedicated to excellence in the specialized practice of construction law.”



The prominent topics at the conference focused on “Public-Private Partnerships”, or P3s, including structuring, financing, insuring, and payment mechanisms.


A new format for the conference included a series of speakers from the College together with guest speakers on the Friday morning followed by an Architectural Boat Cruise along the blue green waters of the Chicago River highlighting various local landmarks of distinction in the downtown area. Hot Topics on selected issues were presented at the Saturday morning session. The Annual General Meeting of the College was also held on the Saturday morning just prior to the Hot Topics segment.


The Fellows and their spouses were entertained at the Friday luncheon by Lorence H. Slutzky of Robbins, Schwartz, Nicholas, Lifton & Taylor, Ltd. of Chicago who spoke about The Great Chicago Fire. The dinner on the Friday evening was held at The Library Club in downtown Chicago.


The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony for New Fellows was held on the Saturday evening in the dining room of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel. The dinner speaker was Neil Steinberg of The Chicago Times.


The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to the following new Fellows inducted at the Twelfth Annual Conference:


Kenneth Crofoot

Karen Martin

E. Jane Sidnell

Scott J. Hammel

Donald C. I. Lucky

Bernard P. Quinn

Glenn W. Ackerley and

Kerry A. Short


The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers is pleased to announce that the following Officers were elected at the Twelfth Annual Conference:




William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.

Stewart McKelvey

Halifax, Nova Scotia


Immediate Past President:

Daniel Ayotte, Q.C.

Borden Ladner Gervais

Montreal, Quebec


Vice President:

W. Andrew McLauchlin

McLauchlin & Associates

Toronto, Ontario



Louis-Michel Tremblay

Miller Thomson Pouliot LLP

Montreal, Quebec



Howard M. Wise

Goodmans LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Program Co-Ordinator:

Derek A. Brindle, Q.C.

Singleton Urquart

Vancouver, British Columbia



The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers listed above,

as well as:


Olivier F. Kott

Ogilvy Renault

Montreal, Quebec


David I. Marr

Campbell, Marr LLP

Winnipeg, Manitoba


Kenneth B. McCullogh, Q.C.

Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales

Saint John, New Brunswick


Joel Richler

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Marina A. Pratchett Q.C.

Fasken Martineau DuMolin LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia


Richard H. Shaban

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

Toronto, Ontario


The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio members of

the Board of Governors:


Harvey J. Kirsh

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1997 – 1999)


D. Robert Beaumont

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1999 - 2000)


David H. Kauffman

De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)

(President, 2000 - 2001)


J. Stephen Tatrallyay


(President, 2001 – 2002)


R. Bruce Reynolds

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2002 – 2003)


Helmut K. Johannsen

Fasken Martineau DeMoulin LLP (Vancouver)

(President, 2003 – 2004)


Stanley Naftolin, Q.C.

Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber, LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2004 – 2005)


Duncan W. Glaholt

Glaholt LLP Barristers & Solicitors (Toronto)

(President, 2005 – 2006)


George W. MacDonald, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper (Halifax)

(President, 2006 – 2007)


Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,

Field LLP (Calgary)

(President, 2007 – 2008)


 Daniel Ayotte, Q.C.

Borden Ladner Gervais (Montreal)                                     

(President, 2008-2009)



Copyright 1999-2009 The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Inc.