Return to the Home Page About CCCL Members CCCL News CCCL Articles CCCL Links Mediation Panel Contact CCCL Member Login


(August 2011)

The Fourteenth Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at Ottawa, Ontario on June 2-5, 2011 at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel.

The theme of this year’s Conference was: “Emerging Legal Issues- Moving the Yardsticks.”

Guest speakers included:

Howard Ashcraft, FACCL, Hon. AIACC, LEED AP Hanson Bridgett LLP (California),

Spencer Cripps, MMM Group,

Michael Atkinson, President of the Canadian Construction Association (Ottawa),

Michael Robillard, Senior Programs Officer, Canada Revenue Agency (Ottawa),

Frank Faieta, National Vice-President, Claims, The Guarantee Company of North America (Toronto),

Deborah Ballati, Farella, Braun and Martel (California) and

Doug Oles of the American College of Construction Lawyers (Washington).

The College is comprised of a small group of nominated senior lawyers (“Fellows”) from across Canada, who have highly distinguished and reputed practices in construction law.  According to its by-laws, the purpose of the College is to:


“facilitate and encourage the association of outstanding lawyers who are distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice or teaching of construction law and who are dedicated to excellence in the specialized practice of construction law.”


The prominent topics at the conference included Integrated Project Delivery, Following the Project Funds and Challenging Contract Clauses.

The format for the conference from the last several years was continued with a series of speakers from the College together with guest speakers on Friday followed by a Boat Cruise of the Ottawa River highlighting local landmarks. The guest speaker at Friday’s group lunch was Chenier La Salle from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, who spoke about the devastation in Japan following the recent tsunami and earthquakes together with Canada’s contribution to the reconstruction efforts of Japan. The Friday night dinner was held at the Canadian Museum of Civilization.

The Annual General Meeting of the College was held on the Saturday morning followed by Hot Topics on selected current issues.

The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony for New Fellows was held on the Saturday evening in the Laurier Room of the Fairmont Chateau Laurier.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to new Fellow Douglas R. Sanders, P. Eng., LL.B. and to Honourary Fellows John W. Hinchey and Steven G.M. Stein inducted at the Fourteenth Annual Conference.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers is pleased to announce that the following Officers were elected at the Fourteenth Annual Conference:



Louis-Michel Tremblay

Miller Thomson Pouliot SENCRL

Montreal, Quebec



Immediate Past President:

W. Andrew McLauchlin

McLauchlin & Associates

Toronto, Ontario



Vice President:

Howard M. Wise

Goodmans LLP

Toronto, Ontario




Derek A. Brindle, Q.C.

Singleton Urquhart LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia




Richard H. Shaban

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Program Co-Ordinator:

Marina A. Pratchett, Q.C.

Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia



The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers listed above,

as well as:


Olivier F. Kott

Ogilvy Renault

Montreal, Quebec


Joel Richler

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Donald W. Goodfellow, Q.C.

The Law Firm of W. Donald Goodfellow, Q.C.

Calgary, Alberta



Ronald W. Price

Rasmussen Starr Ruddy, LLP

Ottawa, Ontario



Christopher C. Robinson, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper

Halifax, Nova Scotia




The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio members of

the Board of Governors:


Harvey J. Kirsh

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1997 – 1999)


D. Robert Beaumont

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1999 - 2000)


David H. Kauffman

De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)

(President, 2000 - 2001)


J. Stephen Tatrallyay


(President, 2001 – 2002)


R. Bruce Reynolds

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2002 – 2003)


Helmut K. Johannsen

Fasken Martineau DeMoulin LLP (Vancouver)

(President, 2003 – 2004)


Stanley Naftolin, Q.C.

Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber, LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2004 – 2005)


Duncan W. Glaholt

Glaholt LLP Barristers & Solicitors (Toronto)

(President, 2005 – 2006)


George W. MacDonald, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper (Halifax)

(President, 2006 – 2007)


Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,

Field LLP (Calgary)

(President, 2007 – 2008)


 Daniel Ayotte, Q.C.

Borden Ladner Gervais (Montreal)                                     

(President, 2008-2009)


William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.

Stewart, McKelvey (Halifax)

(President, 2009-2010) 


Copyright 1999-2012 The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Inc.