Return to the Home Page About CCCL Members CCCL News CCCL Articles CCCL Links Mediation Panel Contact CCCL Member Login


(September 2010)

The Thirteenth Annual Conference of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers was held at Halifax, Nova Scotia on May 27 – May 30, 2010. 

Guest speakers included:

The Honourable Justice Pierre Dalphond of the Quebec Court of Appeal,  John W. Hinchey of King and Spalding, Atlanta, Georgia, Steven G.N. Stein of Stein, Ray & Harris, Chicago, Philip L. Bruner of JAMS, Chicago, The Honourable Stewart McInnis of Halifax, Nova Scotia and Martin J. Valasek of Ogilvy, Renault LLP, Montreal.

The College is comprised of a small group of nominated senior lawyers (“Fellows”) from across Canada, who have highly distinguished and reputed practices in construction law.  According to its by-laws, the purpose of the College is to:

“facilitate and encourage the association of outstanding lawyers who are distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice or teaching of construction law and who are dedicated to excellence in the specialized practice of construction law.”

The prominent topics at the conference included Comparative Construction Law, Good Faith in Construction Law, The Role of a Specialized Construction Court and International Construction Dispute Resolution.

The new format for the conference from last year was continued with a series of speakers from the College together with guest speakers on the Friday morning followed by a Boat Cruise of Halifax Harbour highlighting local landmarks of distinction in the area. Hot Topics on selected issues were presented at the Saturday morning session. The Annual General Meeting of the College was also held on the Saturday morning just prior to the Hot Topics segment.

The Fellows and their spouses were entertained at the Friday luncheon by Gary Shutlak who spoke about “The Halifax Explosion.”The dinner on the Friday evening was held at Pier 21, Canada’s Immigration Museum.

The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony for New Fellows was held on the Saturday evening in the Atlantic Ballroom of the Westin Nova Scotian.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers extends its congratulations to the following nine new Fellows inducted at the Thirteenth Annual Conference:

John N. Craig

Normand D’Amour

Mike Demers

Guy Gilain

Ian Gosselin

Andrew Gurlesky

Ian J. Houston

Murray Sawatzky, Q.C. and

Jeffrey D. Vallis, Q.C., FCIArb.

The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers is pleased to announce that the following Officers were elected at the Thirteenth Annual Conference:


W. Andrew McLauchlin

McLauchlin & Associates

Toronto, Ontario


Immediate Past President:

William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.

Stewart, McKelvey

Halifax, Nova Scotia


Vice President:

Louis-Michel Tremblay

Miller Thomson Pouliot LLP

Montreal, Quebec



Derek A. Brindle, Q.C.

Singleton Urquart

Vancouver, British Columbia



Howard M. Wise

Goodmans LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Program Co-Ordinator:

Richard H. Shaban

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

Toronto, Ontario



The Board of Governors of the College includes the Officers listed above, as well as:


Olivier F. Kott

Ogilvy Renault

Montreal, Quebec


Joel Richler

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Toronto, Ontario


Marina A. Pratchett Q.C.

Fasken Martineau DuMolin LLP

Vancouver, British Columbia


Donald W. Goodfellow, Q.C.

The Law Firm of W. Donald Goodfellow, Q.C.

Calgary, Alberta


Ronald W. Price

Rasmussen Starr Ruddy, LLP

Ottawa, Ontario


Christopher C. Robinson, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper

Halifax, Nova Scotia



The following Past Presidents of the College are also ex-officio members of the Board of Governors:


Harvey J. Kirsh

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1997 – 1999)


D. Robert Beaumont

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Toronto)

(President, 1999 - 2000)


David H. Kauffman

De Grandpré Chait (Montreal)

(President, 2000 - 2001)


J. Stephen Tatrallyay


(President, 2001 – 2002)


R. Bruce Reynolds

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2002 – 2003)


Helmut K. Johannsen

Fasken Martineau DeMoulin LLP (Vancouver)

(President, 2003 – 2004)


Stanley Naftolin, Q.C.

Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber, LLP (Toronto)

(President, 2004 – 2005)


Duncan W. Glaholt

Glaholt LLP Barristers & Solicitors (Toronto)

(President, 2005 – 2006)


George W. MacDonald, Q.C.

McInnes Cooper (Halifax)

(President, 2006 – 2007)


Jean C. van der Lee, Q.C.,

Field LLP (Calgary)

(President, 2007 – 2008)


 Daniel Ayotte, Q.C.

Borden Ladner Gervais (Montreal)                                     

(President, 2008-2009)


William L. (Mick) Ryan, Q.C.

Stewart, McKelvey (Halifax)

(President, 2009-2010) 


Copyright 1999-2012 The Canadian College of Construction Lawyers Inc.